This has nothing whatsoever to do with medieval food. Really.

It does however have to do with SCA food culture, which I think is plenty important, and Gulf Wars, which I can barely go 5 minutes without thinking about right now.

I love Phil’s Grill at Gulf Wars. Last year my whole family went- me, my heavy fighter husband, my heavy fighter 16 year old son, my 13 year old youth fighter son, and my 10 year old youth fighter daughter. Can you even imagine how much food these kids eat at War? Let’s just say that I’m pretty sure we spent more money buying 2 family lunches and 1 family “just a snack!” at Phil’s Grill than my entire War shopping budget. Yet I wouldn’t have missed it. I actually really like the food there, and there’s one particular dish I actually look forward to…

Phil’s Grill’s Spinach Artichoke Melt.

Part of it is just eating in the food court. There’s something so thoroughly “SCA” about eating in the food court at War. Here we are, sitting around wooden picnic tables surrounded by modern food tents, eating modern food… all in our medieval finery. It’s actually kind of cool.

You know, I started this post because I wanted to replicate the Spinach Artichoke Melt. It’s just me and my daughter going to War this year, and I’m already thinking about easy hot dinners I can make for the two of us in the evenings. Making it myself would be so much less expensive. And it might even taste better.

But it wouldn’t be the same.

I think we’ll be visiting Phil’s Grill after all.

