Please check out this fantastic recipe from Mistress Ailleagan, Meridies!

A Snack Fit for a Qan – Mongolian Dried Beef

By Mistress Ailleagan nas Seolta, OP

mka Rachel Strange

glenheather@knology.net

Premise

It is an ongoing process of mine to add to my collection of cookery texts from the Dark Ages and the Medieval era. Often, this requires that I borrow books through inter-library loan, as many of the texts I want are far outside my price range. I was especially happy when a copy of A Soup for the Qan (translated from a text written in 1330) arrived in this manner.

I was particularly excited when I saw this recipe:

This recipe is a culinary recreator’s dream – simple, just a few ingredients (that aren’t that unusual or difficult to obtain if you’re already into medieval cooking), and a straightforward preparation method. Best of all, it includes measurements!

Read the rest of the post here.

