Nailed it, I think. Damn these are fantastic.

1 lb ground lamb
1 large shallot, roughly chopped
3 1 inch square strips of fresh tangerine peel
1 inch chunk of fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1 tsp of spice powder*
1 tsp salt
1/4 c water

Put everything in the food processor and process until fairly smooth. This time I used packaged wonton wrappers, the small square ones. I made 26 dumplings, pretty full, and only used half of the filling. I could easily get 50 dumplings out of a pound of lamb, which is most excellent. These are also spiced strongly enough that cutting the lamb with some beef won’t make much difference.

I definitely think the packaged wonton wrappers instead of the yeasted bao dough is the right choice. The yeasted bao dough is fancier, fluffier and tastier, but it doesn’t hold up as well sitting out, it’s much more difficult and slower to produce. If I ever do this for an A&S entry I’ll use the yeasted bao dough, it’s infinitely more correct, but the wonton wrappers are so much easier.

I also made a batch of the mushroom pao-tzu, but they’re too weird. Too much fennel I think.

Production notes: I made 26 of these in about 30 minutes. They took about 15 minutes per batch in the steamer, and I could only fit 10 in each level. They hold up well at room temperature but the edges get a little dry, they’ll be much better in a steam pan. I froze 4 of each, raw, and will steam them this weekend to check consistency and flavor.

